Top lingual braces go on

I took the tube to Oxford Street for my first appointment on Wednesday and took it home again with my top braces fitted!

What happens during the appointment? My appointment lasted just under 2 hours. During this time, I had a chat with Asif before getting into the chair and having brackets fitted to the backs of my teeth. This was done by him with the aid of an orthodontic nurse. Afterwards, the orthodontic therapist, Fiona took loads of pictures of my teeth with a little wand device. This in turn led to a virtual 3D model popping up on a nearby screen. Apparently, this is part of the SureSmile system and helps their lab to create accurate, custom wires for future ‘tightening’ appointments. After this bit, the first wire was put on.

Sprout_Lightbulb  TOP TIP: Asif provided lip balm but it’s worth bringing your own along incase your ortho/dentist doesn’t have any. Your lips will get dry whilst they are fitting the brackets and wires.

Here are how my braces look.

Screen Shot 2015-05-18 at 15.58.14

There was one burning question before this appointment, that only experience could answer… Would the fitting hurt?

A: No. I was genuinely surprised to find that the fitting of the brace wasn’t painful. Everyone feels different in the chair but I found that Asif Chatoo was super gentle and fast working. I also felt assured when he said that we could stop at any time. It was a little bit strange when I first lay back to have the brackets put on, as the chair is tilted quite a way back but it was not uncomfortable. One of the products used to spray on my teeth didn’t taste so lovely but aside from that, I felt relaxed and actually ended up zoning out! At the end of the appointment I was given a branded ortho-care pack to take away, a useful ‘how to look after’ tutorial as well as a warning of some upcoming dull aches and pains.

Leave a Reply

