The day after the braces went on

Sarah W. via Flickr (CCL)
Sarah W. via Flickr (CCL)

In a nutshell: Aside from a tight feeling on my top teeth, I haven’t felt much pain. (To be fair, I did swallow a few pain killers as soon as I got home from the appointment) The small lisp I have acquired wasn’t so bad during the day but it did get worse during the evening when I felt tired. With this in mind, I was pleased to have come across the passage below. It’s taken from a great  blog created by a girl who underwent lingual treatment a few years ago.

Inside I'm Smiling

I’m convinced that the only way I’m going to overcome my lisp from my lingual brace is to practice, practice, practice. The Rainbow Passage is a piece of text designed to contain all the sound combinations in the English language in roughly the same proportion as they occur in everyday speech. I’ve found it useful in identifying the sounds that cause me trouble with my braces so I can give them extra attention.

{via Picasa}

The Rainbow Passage

When the sunlight strikes raindrops in the air, they act as a prism and form a rainbow. The rainbow is a division of white light into many beautiful colours. These take the shape of a long round arch, with its path high above, and its two ends apparently beyond the horizon.

There is, according to legend, a boiling pot of gold at one end. People look, but no one ever finds…

View original post 258 more words

Leave a Reply

